Clanmaurice Dethrone Limerick Champions


Clanmaurice 2.11 Na Piarsaigh 1.4 – by Triona Brassil

On Sunday last Clanmaurice were crowned Munster Junior Club Champions when they beat Limerick Champions Na Piarsaigh in Mungret GAA Grounds. Na Piarsaigh got off to a better start when Jackie Maguire goaled in the fifth minute after Patrice Diggin & Aoife Wilson had exchange points earlier on. Some great free taking from Na Piarsaigh kept them in it while Clanmaurice midfield pairing of Patrice Diggin and Edel Slattery working great as a team all day. Clanmaurice having a great defence unit all afternoon and didn’t give up. First half saw a great save by goalkeeper Alanna Maunsell who did well throughout the day. The skill of the girls was a joy to watch as the work ethic of the girls was flawless with some great running off the shoulder for the forwards with some of players like Jackie Horgan, Aoife Behan and player of the match exchanging points. Na Piarsaigh’s Sinead Madden and Sinead McNamara (free) scoring to take a two point lead just half way through the first half. Half time Na Piarsaigh 1.3 to Clanmaurice  0.6 after Laura O’ Neill levelled matters and Na Piarsaigh could have easily gone ahead with a long range free from Tara Hurley nearly finding the net but went wide to leave both sides level and still a Munster title to be won.

The second half got underway and Na Piarsaigh’s Aoife Wilson tapped over a pointed free to go one point ahead and sadly that was the last that we saw of Na Piarsaigh. Clanmaurice came into the game and took over slowly  and scoring a  goal in the 7th minute of the second half from Patrice Diggin with a long range free which saw a green flag being raised and leaving Clanmaurice 1.7 to 1.4 ahead. Clanmaurice girls Aoife Behan and Ann Marie Leen tapping over before a good pass from Jessica Fitzell to Jackie Horgan finding the net to leave the score 2.9 to 1.4 which really did seal a win in the 50th minute. The girls really did display some fabulous skill and with five of your six forwards scoring this is truly a great bunch of players. Some players to stand out were Patrice Diggin. Ann Marie Leen, Jackie Horgan, Niamh Leen, Michelle Costello to name a few but this really was a team effort.

Afterwards I spoke to a thrilled Mike Enright manager of the victorious team who was delighted with his sides win, he spoke about how delighted he was with this victory, also informing me that with 3 weeks before the semi-final, he only had 14 players available to him due to work commitments by some girls and the lack of employment in the North Kerry area for the others. Some girls travelling a considerable distance. One girl in particularly with whom he wanted a mention and that was Ann Marie Leen who made the long journey home from Edinburgh in Scotland not once but twice!! This says a lot about the young player and her commitment to Camogie.  Mike said he was delighted with this bunch of girls and said they deserve every success they get as they put so much effort in. Finally, he ended by saying a massive thanks to all the supporters who turned up to support this wonderful team, also a huge thanks to Kilmoyley Hurling Club for allowing the use of their facilities during the bad weather, this was very much appreciated by the players and management.

Clanmaurice Captain Treise Moran accepted the cup from Chairman of Munster Camogie John Foley on behalf of her teammates and Munster PRO Brid McNamara presented player of the match Ann Marie Leen with her well-deserved award. Congrats to the girls and the management team of Mike Enright (Tricky), Pete Young and Joanne Diggin.

Team: Alanna Maunsell, Treise Moran (Capt), Niamh Leen, Michelle Costello, Elaine Ryall, Sara Murphy, Orla Young, Patrice Diggin, Edel Slattery, Aoife Behan, Laura Collins, Saidhbhe Horgan, Jessica Fitzell, Jackie Horgan, Ann Marie Leen. Subs Olivia Dineen for Edel Slattery, Aine O’Connor for Saidhbhe Horgan, Julianne O ‘Keeffe for Aoife Behan, Andrea Hanley for Jackie Horgan, Orlaith Casey for Ann Marie Leen subs not used due to injury were Niamh Rid and Liz Houlihan.