North Kerry Football


North Kerry Championship 2017
Bernard O Callaghan Senior Championship – Eamon O Donoghue Memorial Perpetual Cup
Sponsored by Mcmunns Ballybunion

Quarter Final: Brosna 1.11 v Beale 1.08
This game took place in Buckley Park, Duagh with Eddie Barrett Knocknagoshel over seeing matters.  With Beale bringing Championship pace to proceedings. This was a game of two halves with Beale winning every position on the pitch and controlling the mid field battle.  Beale opening score was a free from play converted by Ger Gorman and in quick reply Brosna’s free taker Tom Mc Goldrick converted in the 4th minute but it was the Darragh Buckley and James McMahon show for Beale adding 1 .04 before the short whistle.  Brosna managed two more points in the half from Patrick Moriarty and MIke Finnegan. But it was Brosna’s turn to bring the performance that their supporters knew they had, and Brosna added 1.06 goal from sub Don McAulfffee without reply,  it took until the 22nd minute of the half for Beale to register their first score a free converted by James McMahon. Beale managed only two more points of the half both by Ger Gorman. With eight minutes of injury time added it was Brosna who held stead fast to win on a score line of Brosna 1.11 To Beale 1.08

Beale: Kenneth Mannix, Fionnán Toomey, Colm Kissane, John Griffin, Philly Blake, Jeremy King, Shane Joy, Dan Ellis, Neilus Mulvihill, Cormac Linnane, Ger O’Gorman (0-3 (3f)), Ian Mannix, Tom Joy, James McMahon (0-4(3f)) and Darragh Buckley (1-1). Substitutes: Barry O’Mahony for Tom Joy, Paul Collins for Ian Mannix, Killian Walsh-O’Boyle for Philly Blake, Rory Mulvihill for Colm Kissane (inj.), Seán Dee, Johnny O’Sullivan, Callum McSweeney, Paul Horgan, Tommy O’Neill, Stephen Linnane, Jake O’Connell, Colm Carolan, Gearóid Costello, John Martin Horgan, Cillian Courtney and Philip Hornyak.
Brosna: Stephen McAuliffe, Gerald Nash , Shane Fitzmaurice, Maurice O Keeffe, Flor McAuliffe,  Eamon Kiely, Daniel Fitzgerald, Timmy Finnegan, Shane Curtin, Denis McAuliffe,  Adam Barry 0.01, Peter Curtin, Patrick Moriarty 0.03,  Mike Finnegan 0.01, Tom McGoldrick 0.04 (2f) subs Killian Keane for Daniel Fitzgerald, Kieran O Donnell 0.02 for Peter Curtin, Don Mc Auliffe 1.0 for Denis McAuliffe.

Quarter Final: Tarbert 0-08 v Ballyduff 1-08
A sunny Frank Sheehy Park, Listowel was the venue for the last Q/F in this year’s Senior C’ship.played before a fine crowd.The first half was a tight low-scoring affair with lots of missed opportunities by both sides-12 wides with 8 of those notched up by Tarbert-to leave the half-time score at 3pts each.The first score of the game was from play by Michael Heaphy in the 13th min and Tarbert’s other two scores were from frees by Gerald O Sullivan in the 19th and 29th minutes.It took Ballyduff 21mins to open their account, a free from Mikey Boyle and the same player pointed from play in the 30th min just before Paud Costelloe struck for the best score of the half,a great point off his left from distance.
The second half saw Cillian Langan put Tarbert ahead from a free,before Barry O Grady latched onto a mishit free to equalize.Jack Goulding,from play, put Ballyduff ahead for the first time in the game in the 37th min before Gerald O Sullivan levelled matters again from a free.Tarbert Captain Ambrose Lanigan pointed from play to put his side ahead again but three wides that followed,  in as many minutes would prove costly later.Mikey Boyle was fouled and scored the free himself to square things up again in the 45th min.Two pointed frees from Gerald O Sullivan put Tarbert two to the good entering the final 10 mins but Ballyduff are nothing if not resilient and Jack Goulding from play and another Mikey Boyle free on the stroke of time levelled the game with 5 mins of injury time to play. Extra time seemed likely when the impressive Jack Goulding was bundled over bearing down on goal.Referee Eamon Moran consulted with his umpires before awarding a penalty to Ballyduff which Padraig Boyle converted with authority.There was still time for Tarbert to launch two attacks on goal but Ballyduff were not going to be penetrated at that point and the final whistle sounded to pair Ballyduff with Listowel Emmets in the semi-final on Sunday 26th November.

TARBERT: Jamie Diggins, Michael Heaphy(0-01), Shane Enright, Sean Holly, Michael Carrig, Danny Wren, Sean Carrig, Brian Heaphy,Shea McDonnell, Shane O Connor, Mark Buckley, Kevin Enright, Ambrose Lanigan (C) (0-01), Gerald O Sullivan(0-05), Cillian Langan(0-01) SUBS:Finbarr Carrig for Kevin Enright (h/t), John Kennedy for Sean Holly(47mins), Donal Leahy for John Kennedy inj. (50mins),Noel Kennedy, Michael Normile, Ian Flavin, Jack Healy, Eamonn O Callaghan, Evan Allen, Andrew Doherty, Brendan Cregan.

BALLYDUFF:Sean Browne, Thomas Slattery, Sean Costelloe(C), Cathal Kearney,Johnny Regan, Paul O Carroll, John Paul Leahy, Paud Costelloe(0-01), Jack O Sullivan, Mikey Boyle(0-04), Jack Goulding(0-02), Anthony O Carroll, Padraig Boyle(1-00), Barry O Grady (0-01), David Goulding. SUBS:Daniel O Carroll for John Paul Leahy(48mins), T.J. Browne, Darragh Goulding, Eddie Joy, J.P.Enright, Padraig Hussey, David Linnane, Darren Leahy, Darren O Connor, Padraig Slattery, Michael Hussey, Chris Whyte, Paddy Moran, Liam Boyle, Aidan Boyle, Ian Guerin, Eric McHale, Evan Doyle, Ben Tobin.

Semi Finals:
Sundy 19th November – 2.30pm in Frank Sheehy Park Listowel
Ballydonoghue -v- Brosna
Sunday 26th November – Venue & Time TBC
Listowel Emmets -v- Ballyduff

Kieran Corridan Intermediate Cup Final
Sponsored South Of Ireland Waste Management
Ballydonoghue B 2.12 v Moyvane B 2.07: This game was played in O’Rahilly Park Ballylongford with the full raft of mother nature beating down on the players,  it was a game of two halves with both teams in the first half having equal possession of the ball. The Ballydonoghue forwards always looked like they were dangerous when on the ball compared to the  Moyvane full forward line who found it hard to hold possession of the ball and repeatedly throughout the game the ball was brought back out by Ballydonoghue steady full back line. It was Moyvane on the scoreboard first within the first two minutes of play having already registered two points from D.J. Keane and Denis Kennelly. But Ballydonoghue were having none of it and corner forward Dermot O’Connor struck for goal not once but raised the green flag twice within the space of 5 minutes. Moyvanes answer was a point from David Moloney, with a quick reply from Ballydonoghue Brain Mason. But just as things seemed to be swaying Ballydonoghue way,  an awarded penalty was converted by Gavin Kennelly in the 17th minute.   Before the halftime whistle Moyvane added a further point to Ballydonoghues two points half time score Ballydonoghue 2.03 v Moyvane 1.04. Second half and it was all Ballydonoghue adding nine points to their total, with an attacking half back line  combination of Danny Power and Padraig Enright driving at the Moyvane backs causing all sorts of problems .   Moyvane midfielder Gerry Clancy did bring some respectability to the scoreboard with a well taken goal in the 12th minute with a further two points from frees converted by Clancy and Gavin Kennelly.  So Ballydonoghue B team retain there Intermediate title for the second year in a row.  Man of the Match sponsored by Kennelly’s Bar and Garage Ballylongford went to Padraig Enright and the Kieran Corridon Memorial Cup was presented by Sponsor Fergal O Connor South of Ireland Waste Management to Captain Darren O’Connor

Purtill Family, Ballybunion, Holly Family Ballybunion. Gorman Family Asdee. Costello Family Ballyduff, Lynch Family Ballylongford, O’Neill Family Pulleen Ballylongford, O’Neill Family Ahanagran Ballylongford. Purtill Family Ballydonoghue, O’Dowd Family Ballydonoghue, Riordan Family Ballydonoghue. O’Callaghan Family St Senans, Lyons Family St Senans.