Shortlist Announced for Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2018


Kerry Group Plc & Listowel Writers’ Week are delighted to announce the shortlist for the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award 2018.

The award is for the best novel by an Irish author published between 1st February 2017 and 1st February 2018 with a prize of €15,000 for the winning author – the largest
monetary prize awarded for novel available solely for Irish writers.
“Kerry Group is delighted to continue its sponsorship of the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award 2018” said Frank Hayes, Director of Corporate Affairs. “Now in its 23rd year, this prestigious award continues to recognise Ireland’s leading literary talent. The five
novels shortlisted for this year’s Award will undoubtedly further Ireland’s international
reputation and proud literary tradition. I commend our two adjudicators, Jane Urquhart and Alex Preston, for compiling this year’s shortlist, which showcases a rich and diverse
selection of Irish writing”.

The winner will be announced at the opening ceremony of this years’ Listowel Writers’ Week on the 30th May 2018 and will be presented with the €15,000 prize.
This year’s adjudicators were novelists Jane Urquhart and Alex Preston
Listowel Writers’ Week Festival Chairperson Liz Dunn said, “We were presented with an excellent longlist, yet again, this year and these five shortlisted books are a reflection of the variety and exceptional talent of the Irish novelist. Our adjudicators are to be commended on their reading and consideration of over sixty novels submitted this year and in agreeing this outstanding shortlist.

This year’s short list is:
•    Harvesting by Lisa Harding – Publisher: Little Island
•    Grace by Paul Lynch – Publisher: Oneworld
•    The Woodcutter and his Family by Frank McGuinness – Publisher: Brandon Books
•    Midwinter Break by Bernard McLaverty – Publisher: Jonathan Cape
•    Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney – Publisher: Faber & Faber

Listowel Writers’ Week takes place between 30th May and 3rd June 2018. This year’s Festival will feature the usual host of national and international authors such as Edna O’Brien, Colm Tóibín, Jon McGregor, Scarlett Sabet and Margaret Drabble (due to attend in 2017 had to cancel but will travel this year). Billy Collins will travel from the USA as will David Nihill. The Festival will also feature Rikke Schmidt, Louise O’Neill, Pauline Bewick and Carlo Gébler; full Festival programme will be announced in the coming weeks.