St. Joseph’s Secondary School Awards Night


The Tinteáin Theatre, Ballybunion was the venue for the 2017 Awards Night, the 12th for St. Joseph’s Secondary School, Ballybunion on Thursday night May 11th. Organised by Mrs. Moriarty and her hard working committee, no stone was left un-turned to make this night an excellent showcase of the talented students in the school.

First awards presented were the Junior Cert Award 2015 to Niamh Stack and 2016 to Sarah O’Connor. The Leaving Cert Award 2015 was awarded to Meadhbh Griffin and 2016 to Milan Hartney. The Student of the Year Awards were presented to Ciara Hennessy (1st yr.), Conor Hennessy (2nd yr.), Scott Godson (3rd yr.), Elaine O’Donoghue (TY), Kieran Nolan (5th yr.) and Marissa Molyneaux (6th yr.). The enterprising students Fionnán Toomey, Jamie Hannon and Philip Byrne proudly accepted the Michael Bunyan Perpetual Trophy.

Seven 5th year students were acknowledged for their part in the School Magazine. The Junior Craft Student Award was presented to Diarmuid O’Mahony, while Michael Dee won the Senior Craft Student Award. The School Choir then wowed the audience with their talent direct from work shop with guest Veronica Mc Carron.

Special Achievement Winners were talented students Patrick Kelliher, Alannah Whealan, Ryan Downey, Eoin McDonald, Sean McGrath and Seán Walsh. Basketball stars Aoife Donegan and Aoife Dillon achieved the Junior and Senior awards respectively. The talented Gaelic Footballers James Donegan and Seamus O’Sullivan won the Junior and Senior Awards. Katie Joy was announced as the Art Student of the year. An Irish Scholarship was accepted by Ruth Mc Carthy. Noirín Bn Uí Chatháin’s trophy was presented to Marissa Molyneaux. The the top accolade of awards were then revealed.

Rachel Hanrahan proudly accepted the Jack O’Sullivan Junior Student of the Year Award. Senior Student of the Year for 2017 was leaving Cert Marissa Molyneaux.
Congratulations to all the award winners, Amber McSweeney who designed the lovely Programme, the entertainers and the hard working group of people who made the night such a success. We are eternally grateful to the generous sponsors; St. Joseph’s Parents Association, Mr. Dan Aherne – Beale Hill Wind farm, Mr. Liam and Mrs. Angela Bunyan and Noirín Bn Uí Chatháin. Buíochas ó chroí to guests/speakers, Mr. J O’Donovan, Mr. P. Byrne, Mr, J. Kennelly, Ms V. McCarron, Mr. M.O’Shea, Mr. and Mrs. Liam and Angela Bunyan, The O’Sullivan family and N. Bn. Uí Chatháin.

Pictured are the St. Josephs Choir who performed at the Tinteán Theatre, Ballybunion for the Awards Night and recently at the parish confirmation, directed by Mrs. Lynch and Ms Veronica McCarron who appeared on ‘Britains Got Talent’ last year with another choir