Chasing Sam Maguire


The All-Ireland Football Championship 1928–1977

By Dermot Reilly, Colm Keys & Larry McCarthy

It is almost one hundred years since the Sam Maguire Cup was first awarded to the winner of the All-Ireland Football Championship, the pinnacle of sporting ambition for generations of Gaelic footballers. Here, we celebrate all the heartbreak and glory of the first fifty years of its history.

Since it was first presented in 1928, to Kildare, who beat Cavan by a single point, the Sam Maguire has become one of the most treasured pieces of silverware in Irish sport. Dermot Reilly and Colm Keys have created an absorbing record of the first fifty years of Sam. Thrilling accounts of the run-up to each final and the finals themselves are included, along with the names and home clubs for every player to have graced the field in those All-Ireland finals.

A ‘must’ for every GAA enthusiast, Chasing Sam Maguire is an enthralling account of the agony and the ecstasy of the pursuit of Ireland’s biggest sporting prize.

Open from 10.30am – 5.30pm Monday to Saturday

Phone Orders 068 21021. Also by email at

Book Choosing & Book Posting Service
We will choose a book to suit you & have it posted

“I am Reading”