Kerry ETB Student Awards 2020


The annual Kerry ETB Student Award ceremony took place on Friday 17th January. This is a key event in the annual calendar when Kerry ETB celebrates the achievements of students and learners from their Post Primary Schools and Youthreach centres.
Sixty-four student awards were presented at this ceremony, which is a very special occasion for all of the Award Recipients, their Parents/Guardians, Families and Teachers. The Award Recipients are excellent role models for their Schools and Centres. Students received awards for academic excellence, involvement in school life, peer mentoring, Transition Year achievements and leadership.

Ms. Toireasa Ní Fhearaiosa, a former student of Kerry ETB School Gaelcholaiste Chiarraí was the guest speaker on the night. In her address, she praised the students on their awards and encouraged them to continue to shine and develop their academic and leadership skills throughout their life. She acknowledged and commended Kerry ETB for encouraging student participation and student voice in Kerry ETB schools. 

In his welcome address, Colm McEvoy, CEO Kerry ETB stated, “Our education journey can present many challenges and it is very important as an organisation that we provide a holistic education for our students, where the emphasis is focused on developing the whole person and turning challenges into opportunities and successes. The awards being presented this evening are a reflection of this approach, with awards being presented for academic excellence, involvement in school life, peer mentor, leadership etc. “

Ann O’Dwyer Director of Schools, Youth and Music thanked the Principals and Staff in the schools who are constantly striving to be at the cutting edge in maths, business science, technology and the arts. She praised all the students from Killorglin Community College and Castleisland Community College who were involved in this year’s Young Scientist Exhibition. Timothy McGrath from Killorglin Community College received a special recognition award for his journey in school through science. His latest project ‘An R&D Study on Using a Nutrient Treatment Biofilter to Combat Oceanic and Freshwater Dead Zones, which Harnesses the Intrinsic Potential of Halophyte Species’, for which he received the highest accolade when winning the overall prize at the National SciFest Competition in November. Timothy will represent Ireland on a Global platform at the ISEF Science and Technology competition in California in May 2020.

A special mention went to Tara Whittington from Coláiste na Sceilge and Cian Ó Cianáin from Gaelcholaiste Chiarraí who achieved maximum points in their leaving cert and were awarded ‘Best Overall Academic Excellence Awards’. 

Cllr. Jim Finucane, Cathaoirleach of Kerry Education and Training Board said that he was delighted to be associated with the annual Student Awards event and commended the students on their outstanding achievements. He urged them to continue to strive for their ambitions and to maintain their determination to achieve their goals in life. He thanked the school Principals, Deputy Principals, Youthreach Co-ordinators, Teachers, SNA’s, Resource Workers and support staff in schools and Youthreach Centres for their sincere dedication to quality teaching, learning, student support and pastoral care.
Kerry ETB thanked Dr. Brendan O Donnell President of Tralee Institute of Technology (Tralee IT) for hosting the ceremony.
If you have any queries, please do not hesitate to

Picured are Award Winners – Coláiste na Ríochta, Listowel and Causeway Comprehensive. Photo by Francis Bennett