St. Senans are U21 Champions


Sponsored by Dennehy Veterinary Clinic Duagh

St. Senans 3-18 -v- Ballydonoghue 4-13. After extra time.
Report By Tim O Connor. St Senans captured the 2016 NK U21 C’Ship when they overcame a much deple ted Ballydonoghue side after extra time in Duagh on Sunday 29th Jan. Ballydonoghue already badly hit with injuries were further hampered by the unavailability of Brian O Seanachain and Jason Foley due to being part of the Kerry senior panel.
St. Senans struck almost from the throw in when Conor Kennelly capitalised from a Ballydonoghue mistake to kick over their first point. A Padraig Lyons free kick opened Ballydonoghue’s account minutes later. Cathal Kennelly put Senans ahead again on 10 mins and two minutes later a Donnacha Brosnan shot was saved on the line by the efforts of Darragh O’Shea and Jack O’Connor. Five minutes later Conor Kennelly made no mistake from close range to put Senans in the driving seat. Both sides then kicked two points apiece before Ballydonoghue’s Padraig Lyons struck for his side’s first goal and leave just a point between the sides. A great ‘mark’ by Eoin O’Connell from the kickout set up a move that saw David Behan finish to the Ballydonoghue net on 27mins. Senans kicked two more points to Ballydonoghue’s one before the break. HT St. Senans 2-6. Bdon 1-4. Both sides exchanged points early in the second half. Ballydonoghue were taking the game to St. Senans a lot more in this half and should have been much closer except for some wayward shooting particularly from set pieces. Still St. Senans looked to be in control until Ballydonoghue’s Brian Mason got on the end of a high ball and flicked to the net 2-9 to 2-5 45min. Five minutes later it was Senan’s turn when Cathal Kennelly found the Ballydonoghue net. It was end to end stuff now, Padraig Lyons kicked over two frees to leave the score 3-10 to 2-6. 55mins gone. Ballydonoghue needed goals and so it transpired as Darragh Sheehy struck low and hard to the Senans net. A goal between the sides 3mins remaining both sides again exchanges points before Ballydonogue were sensationally awarded a penalty in the dying seconds after Jack Foley was brought down. Darragh Sheehy cooly dispatched to the net all square. FT BallyD 4-9. St Senans 3-12. Roll on extra time.

St Senans raced into a three point lead with scores from Cathal Kennelly 2pts, Conor Kennelly 1pt before Jack Foley and Padraig Lyons pulled two back for Ballydonoghue. HT ET. BallyD 4-11 Senans 3-15.
Padraig Lyons levelled proceedings again in the first minute of the second period of extra time. Points from David Behan and Jack Foley cancelled each other out with 7mins played. Both sides were out on their feet at this stage as a heavy drizzle had descended over Duagh at the start of extra time. St. Senans threw everything at Ballydonoghue in those final minutes and first Cathal Kennelly pointed from a close in free and then David Behan made it a two point game and that’s how it finished with a two point win for St.Senans. St. Senans 3-18. Ballydonoghue 4-13. FT ET.

Ballydonoghue: Darragh O’Shea, Dan Power, Jack O’Connor, Kieran Lynch, Micheal Foley, Jack Gogarty, Stephen Foley, Cian O’Mahony, Jack Behan Darragh Sheehy, Kevin O’Donnell, Jack Foley, Padraig Lyons, Brian Mason. Subs: William Kissane, Donal Doyle, David Foley, Stephen Mason, Michael Gogarty.

St Senans: Darragh Kennelly, Eamon Shanahan, Mike Keane, Alan Kennelly, Adrain O Mahony, Sean T Dillon, Kieran Lyons, Eoin O’Connell, Jack McKenna, Conor Kennelly, David Foran, Padraig Dillon, David Behan, Cathal Kennelly, Donnacha Brosnan. Subs: Padraig Logue, Darragh Stack, Donal Og Hunt, Jack Hennessy, Colm Stack, Barry Mahony.